Board of Directors

The Knowledge First Foundation and Knowledge First Financial each have an independent Board of Directors. The Boards are responsible for guidance and oversight, ensuring our activities and operations are carried out with the highest degree of integrity, transparency, and accountability for our customers.

Each director brings valuable knowledge, skills, and experience to help the company achieve its mission: to empower students and enhance their journeys through post-secondary school and beyond.

The Boards meet regularly to oversee the administration of the plans offered by Knowledge First Financial.

Chair of the Board of Directors

Donald Hunter, FCPA, FCA, ICD. Retired Partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP


Ellen Bessner, B.Comm, LL.B., ICD.D Partner, Babin Bessner Spry
Andrea Bolger, B.Comm., M.B.A., ICD.D. Former EVP, Royal Bank of Canada
David Forster, FCPA, FCA, ICD.D. Retired Partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Josée Morin, Eng, M.B.A., ASC President, SCJM
Paul G Renaud, CPA, CA Former President & CEO, Omers Private Equity
Ian C. Tudhope, C. Dir. Founder, Wessex Capital Partners
Carrie Russell, B.A. (Hons), C. Dir President & CEO


Carrie Russell, B.A. (Hons), C. Dir, President & CEO
Darrell Bartlett, CPA, CA, CIA, Chief Risk and Compliance Officer
Gorkem Gurgun, B.B.A, C.P.A., VP Finance and Controller


David Forster, FCPA, FCA, ICD.D. Chair, Audit, Finance and Risk Management Committee
Ellen Bessner, B.Comm., LL.B., ICD.D Chair, Governance Committee
Ian C. Tudhope, C. Dir. Chair, Investment Committee
Andrea Bolger, B.Comm., M.B.A., ICD.D. Chair, Human Resources Committee